Should the pan be "scratched" with sandpaper before use?

mts

Bronze Member
May 18, 2009
Ohio
Detector(s) used
Nokta Simplex+, Nokta Pulsedive, Tesoro Vaquero, Tesoro Silver µMax, BH Tracker IV, Garrett ProPointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Should the pan be "scratched" with sandpaper before use?

I'm new to panning and just bought the standard Garrett gold panning kit ($30, two pans, classifier, snuffer bottle, etc.). I've watched many videos on youtube and some of them talk about "prepping" the pan with 60 grit sandpaper so that it holds fine gold better. It makes sense to me. But then again, being a complete newbie I'd believe just about anything. So I thought I'd ask the real experts about whether this is a necessity or just an old wive's tale. Eventually, my pan will get scratched anyway due to all of the rocks acting like sandpaper. But I wanted to check first before I take my brand new pan and rough it up a bit.

Being able to catch really fine gold is going to be important since I'm in Ohio. Thanks!

Upvote 0

goldenlady

Mar 5, 2008
colorado springs, co
Detector(s) used
Fisher Gold Strike
Primary Interest:
Other
Re: Should the pan be "scratched" with sandpaper before use?

With a new pan ( plastic) we make sure to wash it with a degreasing soap. As oil can be left on it after it's manufactured. If we're out in the field with a new pan we use river or stream bottom gravel to rough up the bottom. Haven't ever tried the sandpaper but I imagine it would work too.

Goldenlady

OP
OP
mts

mts

Bronze Member
May 18, 2009
Ohio
Detector(s) used
Nokta Simplex+, Nokta Pulsedive, Tesoro Vaquero, Tesoro Silver µMax, BH Tracker IV, Garrett ProPointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting

Thanks goldenlady. Any particular brand of soap you recommend? Are you talking about using something like go-Jo hand degreaser?

Marchas45

Bronze Member
Mar 22, 2009
A Place In Heaven
Detector(s) used
Excalibur 1000, Garrett Scorpion.
Primary Interest: