Gold in them hills?

HDmac

Tenderfoot
Jul 21, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey guys, so I have brook very close to my house (technically I own it) and I am very new to prospecting. I know over the years friends and family have casually panned in it but never found even a fleck of gold. I also have never heard of anyone finding gold in it. HOWEVER what it does have is garnets, lots and lots of them. I thought it would be fun to go and practice my panning / find some garnets for fun. After a good pan behind a riffle-looking rock, I pulled up a few dozen garnets and took them home. I put them under a 40X microscope so I could get a closer look and see the true color/quality of them. To my surprise it looked as if there was small amounts of gold attached to them! So here is my question:

Does it look like gold to you and if yes, do you think that I should continue looking for gold despite never finding any? It is such a small fleck it could only be seen under 40X.

P.S This brook is in eastern/southern Vermont. There are not any known gold bearing brooks for at least a 45min drive.(says google) I have a sluice box coming soon so I will be able to process a lot more dirt.

Pics: sorry kinda hard to see
photo (1)1.JPG photo.JPG photo (1).JPG photo1.JPG

Last edited:
Upvote 0

david583

Jul 9, 2012
Woodstock ,VT
Detector(s) used
Whites DFX , Whites M6
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hi I'm from vt and I have found gold in every brook in vt I have ever panned , also nh and ma . It's there it just may be in small amounts whether or not that it's worth it I Cant tell you . Good luck !

OP
OP
H

HDmac

Tenderfoot
Jul 21, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi I'm from vt and I have found gold in every brook in vt I have ever panned , also nh and ma . It's there it just may be in small amounts whether or not that it's worth it I Cant tell you . Good luck !