MA/VT/NH Panning

dvdtharaldson

Sep 19, 2012
Massachusetts
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi ,

This is the first time I have posted on this website. I live in Western MA and am planning a trip during the last few days of September to Vermont to try my luck panning. I was going to try Buffalo Brook and Five Corners in the Bridgewater area. Does anybody know how far down you ordinarily have to dig to hit black sands in those areas? Any comments on whether you have to dig deep or just stay on the surface? I was thinking Irene probably deposited alot of flood gold on the surface. Does anybody know if some of the small brooks high up in the mts. north of Bridgewater contain gold? All I ever hear is Buffalo Brook and Five Corners. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. As you probably could tell I am new to panning for gold.

Thanks,

David

Last edited:
Upvote 0

penster

Sep 3, 2012
CT
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
There is a thread here called panning in new England....a couple of guys discussing creeks in the white mountains area. Maybe that would be a good start for leads. Good luck!

vtgoldprospector

Jun 27, 2012
Eastern Long Island
Detector(s) used
Google Earth, my hands and a pan!
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
The depth of the hole you need to dig is completely subject to the surroundings of that area. 10 inches.. 10 feet.. Maybe even at several layers on the way down. That simply needs to be evaluated when you are actually there digging. There is a surprising amount of information available for Vermont not including the list of sites with the same information copy/pasted verbatim, which I am sure you have found. I have for a number of months now been extensively researching and compiling anything for Vermont and have reached a point where I require people to beta test my Google Earth library. I set up a website that explains what it's all about.

Http://www.goldmapmaker.com