Floating Gold

T3112H

Jan 13, 2013
I'm new to gold panning and I have a question that I'm hoping somebody can answer for me...

I've been practicing on some pay dirt I got from the sierras in Northern CA when I went out with a guide. I'm getting down to the black sands and can get the bigger flakes to separate. But where I'm really thrown off is that sometimes it looks like a small flake of gold is floating. Is that even possible? I also have some really fine stuff that will appear to clump together and float as well.

The pans I'm using are brand new so I don't know if that has something to do with it.

Also I remember seeing the guide I went with put Ajax into each of his pans, but I don't remember at which stage of panning he did that. Is that something I need to do as well?

Thanks in advance....

Upvote 0

KevinInColorado

Gold Member
Jan 9, 2012
Summit County, Colorado
Detector(s) used
Grizzly Goldtrap Explorer & Motherlode, Gold Cube with trommel or Banker on top, Angus Mackirk Expedition, Gold-n-Sand Xtream Hand pump
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Yes gold repels water at the molecular level so it can float under the right circumstances. Use a wetting agent...best is a Rinse Aid like Jetdry since it makes fewer bubbles.

To separate the really fine gold use a screen or strainer to remove the larger grains of sand...then pan. Much better :)

Mine it and recycle it!

walldo

Jun 18, 2012
Washington state
Detector(s) used
Mine lab x terra 305
Here in Washington I will go after beach sand. All you get is the really fine gold. That gold if it touches air floats. Jet dry reduces the surface tension of the water allowing the gold to sink.

image-1023654343.jpg

Right after this picture. All that fine stuff floated on me. (Look really close)

OP
OP
T3112H

T3112H

Jan 13, 2013
Thanks for the input. I'll give the jet dry a try when I get home and let you know how it goes.

Thanks again

KevinInColorado

Gold Member
Jan 9, 2012
Summit County, Colorado
Detector(s) used