Welcome guest, is this your first visit?
Discoveries

Like Tree27Likes
  • 3 Post By KevinInColorado
  • 6 Post By DizzyDigger
  • 4 Post By goldenIrishman
  • 2 Post By mxer47
  • 8 Post By Goodyguy
  • 4 Post By jeepGold

Thread: Newbie is as newbie does. Classifier question(s)

« Prev Thread | Next Thread »
    us
    ag-au.biz

Feb 2013
    Minneapolis, MN
    2 times
    Prospecting

Newbie is as newbie does. Classifier question(s)

Hey guys,
    I'm relatively new to the hobby of Gold panning. I've been out quite a bit this summer and even found some color. However, as you know panning isn't easy. What I would like to know is what do you use for classifying material? Did you make your own classifier(s) or buy them? Since i'm in MN and the gold is fine my 1/2 inch Garrett that came with my 14' pan is useless. I've been looking at DIY and for sale classifiers and have been wanting to make my own, however, I just want something sturdy and reliable. Whats your experience? Or advice? Thanks guys!

us
    Author of a book about finding gold in Colorado

Jan 2012
    Summit County, Colorado
    Grizzly Goldtrap Explorer & Motherlode, Gold Cube with Banker on top, Bazooka Goldtrap sluices, Angus Mackirk Expedition, Gold-n-Sand Xtream Hand pump
    10445 times
    Prospecting
    One key question if you do DIY is what material you use. Lots of guys use 1/4 inch hardware cloth but this stuff just isn't durable so your pics of your new classifier look great but a few outings later you learn that your hard work is coming apart. Brass or stainless steel mesh is the way to go. This will most likely lead you to buying commercial classifiers. For a custom classifier I built, I used aluminum punch plate from Home Depot. Is the "Union Jack" pattern and it works well. However Aluminum is soft enough to stretch and then break unless reinforced so I had to add a strap across the center of the classifier.