Newbie is as newbie does. Classifier question(s)

cwwj123

Feb 15, 2013
Minneapolis, MN
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hey guys,
I'm relatively new to the hobby of Gold panning. I've been out quite a bit this summer and even found some color. However, as you know panning isn't easy. What I would like to know is what do you use for classifying material? Did you make your own classifier(s) or buy them? Since i'm in MN and the gold is fine my 1/2 inch Garrett that came with my 14' pan is useless. I've been looking at DIY and for sale classifiers and have been wanting to make my own, however, I just want something sturdy and reliable. Whats your experience? Or advice? Thanks guys!

Upvote 0

KevinInColorado

Gold Member
Jan 9, 2012
Summit County, Colorado
Detector(s) used
Grizzly Goldtrap Explorer & Motherlode, Gold Cube with trommel or Banker on top, Angus Mackirk Expedition, Gold-n-Sand Xtream Hand pump
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
One key question if you do DIY is what material you use. Lots of guys use 1/4 inch hardware cloth but this stuff just isn't durable so your pics of your new classifier look great but a few outings later you learn that your hard work is coming apart. Brass or stainless steel mesh is the way to go. This will most likely lead you to buying commercial classifiers. For a custom classifier I built, I used aluminum punch plate from Home Depot. Is the "Union Jack" pattern and it works well. However Aluminum is soft enough to stretch and then break unless reinforced so I had to add a strap across the center of the classifier.

For MN you probably want an 8-12 mesh (you could use a kitchen strainer for this as they are stainless steel and cheap) to use in the field, and a 50 mesh to separate the materials you bring home. Panning the stuff that goes thru the 50 mesh separately will help you get the really fine gold.

DizzyDigger

Gold Member
Dec 9, 2012
Concrete, WA
Detector(s) used