Jul 14, 2014
Gothenburg, NE
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro,

Garrett Pinpointer,

36" Bazooka Prospector
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Before the school year starts I'm planning on taking my 7yr old daughter to Clear Creek, Colorado to pan for some gold (hopefully in the next 2-3 weeks). I'm fairly new to this but have done a ton on research online & spent many hours trying to improve my panning technique with paydirt from Ebay, etc. Biggest question is "where to go & where to set up our tent?" It appears there are several different RV sites on Hwy 6 between Golden & Idaho Springs, CO but not much info on primitive campsites. Anybody have suggestions of a decent place to set up a tent which will be fairly close to a place to pan at? In addition, should we be worried about any wildlife, i.e: bears, rattlesnakes, etc?

I'm even considering purchasing a Bazooka Gold Trap which hopefully will allow us to fill up a couple buckets of paydirt that we can take back to Nebraska with us. Would this be an unwise investment? Any suggestions or advise would be much appreciated.

Upvote 0

tamrock

Gold Member
Jan 16, 2013
Colorado
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Tracker IV
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting