Grass valley Nevada county help!!!

goldninja32

Jul 15, 2015
grass valley
Detector(s) used
Prospector
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
hello, patrick here. I am new to panning. i live in the middle of a gold country. i have a gold mine less then a mile away, three creeks run thru my property, one dry, one seasonal, and thrid all year round. i panned it few times finding alot of black sand? is that good??? any tips would help! i am planning on building a sluice box. does anyone know of a club or lookin for friends to go pan. i am new and trying to better my life. new hobbies. thanks for ya time good luck out there, never give up!for every dark day a brighter day is ahead. whoop whoop

Upvote 0

GoldpannerDave

Bronze Member
Apr 17, 2014
Colorado Springs, CO
Detector(s) used
Bazooka 48" Miner and 30" Sniper, Le Trap, Wolf Trap, A52, 2" dredge, Miller tables, Blue Bowl, wheel, Falcon MD20, old White's detector
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Welcome!! Glad to have you here. I am sure folks from your area will chip in, but for now--did you pan the black sand down enough to see gold? Getting black sand is good, but while I have never found gold without black sand, I have found lots of black sand without any gold in it.

Have you done any research on your area? Having a gold mine near is good; indicates gold has been found there. Is this hard rock or placer (gold in the creeks)? Is the area you are panning open for mineral discovery or do you already own the surface and mineral rights to your property? If you don't own the mineral rights, you may be illegal in your prospecting.

Goldwasher

Gold Member
May 26, 2009
Sailor Flat, Ca.
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
SDC2300, Gold Bug 2 Burlap, fish oil, .35 gallons of water per minute.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting