Am I doing this right?

nuggetmusterer

Tenderfoot
Mar 6, 2017
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm brand new to this world, but determined and excited to find some flakes! I bought a basic panning kit, and spent the weekend roaming around the hills, panning and exploring. I'm hoping to get critiqued on where I'm looking . . . I did a little research on Land Matters to make sure I wasn't panning on someone else's claim. There are few active gold claims up the canyon of where I was sampling.

First, I found an old creek bed with a dry waterfall. I dug about 2 feet down and collected a 5 gallon bucket full of hopeful pay dirt from there. I took the bucket down to the small stream, panned the bucket, but didn't have any luck. Was this a good spot to sample? Am I wasting my time? Should I have dug down deeper, shallower, sampled every 6 inches? There was no cavity at the base of the dry waterfall...
View attachment 1423413

Then, I came across this exposed conglomerate of an old riverbed (I'm assuming that's what it is). I didn't sample anything, but am wondering if this would be a good spot to gather hopeful pay dirt? If so, how should I determine which height on the wall to dig at? It didn't erode equally up the wall, so I'm assuming that different layers are more likely to contain gold.
View attachment 1423414