Gold panning in Greece!

Antmath

Oct 19, 2019
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello guys! I am new in gold prospecting so far and I am currently in need of some assistance from the pros! I have bought the basic equipment, a pan and a classifier. Oh, I have to mention that I live in Greece and specifically on an island. Let me tell you the backstory: there are two mountains which both Of them were active volcanos. Researches have be done in the past and showed that there is gold on those mountains, or in at least. So, we have the two mountains and some rivers crossing between them down to the sea. I have found a nice place though where I can search for gold because it’s more easy to approach it. I have already panned some dirt but I only took material from some random places. There are some trees on the sides of the river and there is also a waterfall, also there are many rocks in a short distance of the river and bedrocks too. I will send some photos too when I will have the chance to visit the place again. Maybe on Monday. Anyway my question: do I have the chances of finding some gold? And if yes, where do I have to look specifically? If gold was found deep in the mountains is there any chance of it to be found in the river? And if we suppose that the river is located in the altitude of 300 meters and the peak of the mountains is on 751 meters is it possible that the gold would have gone so low? Thank you guys in advance and I apologize for my noobiness!

Upvote 0

mike(swWash)

Feb 6, 2008
Grays Harbor in Washington state
Detector(s) used
Whites Spectrum XLT with about 1/4" of dust on it and can't even remember how t turn it on?!?!?
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
The only time you don't have a chance of finding gold is by not trying.
Good Luck my friend and welcome!

OP
OP
A

Antmath

Oct 19, 2019
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting