How to find experienced panners or groups to learn with?

HoosierDude

Tenderfoot
Nov 11, 2012
Southern Indiana
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
So, I created this account back in 2012. I still have never panned for gold. I'm an avid outdoorsman, always backpacking, multi-day trips. I really want to start learning how to start panning for gold with basic tools. I'm thinking just a pan and a handpump (?) for cleaning out cracks and crevices. Nothing fancy, just simple tools that I can carry with ease.

Trouble is... I don't know anyone who does this. And although I prefer to enjoy the outdoors alone, if I'm new at something it'd be nice to learn from someone. I also don't know where I can do this legally and don't know many people with creek property. Any thoughts?

Upvote 0
OP
OP
H

HoosierDude

Tenderfoot
Nov 11, 2012
Southern Indiana
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Any non-Facebook groups? I quit Facebook and all social media a year or so ago. =/

Trying to return to times when the internet was at it's best: Individual forums without big-tech. :)

EDIT: Looks like I can still see events without having to re-activate my old account. I've bookmarked it and will check it every few weeks I suppose!

Last edited:

Ohiogoldfever

Oct 15, 2020
Dayton Ohio
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
If you ever find yourself over here in mid Ohio I’d be happy to go out panning. I’m not expert but I’ve moved several ton through my pans. Hahaha. Heck I even know where to find some gold.

Goodyguy

Gold Member
Mar 10, 2007
Arizona
Detector(s) used
Whites TM 808, Whites GMT, Tesoro Lobo Super Traq, Fisher Gold Bug 2, Suction Dredges, Trommels, Gold Vacs, High Bankers, Fluid bed Gold Traps, Rock Crushers, Sluices, Dry Washers, Miller Tables, Rp4
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting