Sending an old-timer to the spa...

desmobob

Apr 10, 2005
upstate NY -- Lake George region
Detector(s) used
XP Dēus, White's DFX, Garrett Ace 250
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm getting ready to send my old Nikon F2S to the shop for a CLA (clean, lubricate and adjust) spa treatment...

Back in the early 1980s, when I was a newly enlisted Navy journalist at the joint-service Defense Information School on Fort Benjamin Harrison in Indianapolis, I was trained on Canons. This bummed me out a bit as I had already become a Nikon fan in high school. But when I arrived at my first duty station, I was delighted to find that the photo lab was stocked with Nikons. The Public Affairs Office was issued a Nikon F2S, with the infamous Nikkor 43-86mm f/3.5 zoom attached. It was the later version of the lens and not anywhere near as horrible as its reputation (I guess the original version earned the bad rep).

That camera was every bit as tough as it was reputed to be, which I learned after having the neck strap come apart and watching the camera bounce down a concrete stairwell. I retrieved it, reattached the DP-2 metered finder which had separated during the tumble, and proceeded to shoot a couple of rolls of Tri-X with no issue.

My all-time favorite camera quote is on the F2 from Ken Rockwell and more than hints at its robust nature:
"The original Nikon F from 1969 put Leica in the coffin, and the F2 was the camera the almighty himself used to hammer in the nails."

cf3f28778215202ae783734e5960a8d0.jpg (photo from the excellent Photography in Malaysia website)