Bitcoin

BigChief14

Jan 22, 2008
Fort Smith Arkansas
Detector(s) used
Whites Classic III SL
I know there are some very smart folks on this board that can explain things in plain English.
Someone explain to me what the heck is a Bitcoin and just how is it used as currency?

I know I've never dug one up with my MD- :laughing7:

Sounds like a scam to me! On a related note-if anyone wants to buy some Hog Dollars- send me a silver dime and I'll issue you warrants for 10 Hog Dollars.

Marchas45

Bronze Member
Mar 22, 2009
A Place In Heaven
Detector(s) used
Excalibur 1000, Garrett Scorpion.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I would stay away from Bitcoin my opinion is; it's a Ponzi Scheme getting ready to Blow Up In Their Face.

TreasurePirate69

Jan 20, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm not an expert on Bitcoin but I agree with Marchas.

As to how it works, it is essentially something kind of like this: Bitcoins are mined by powerful computers that solve mathematical problems. These problems are complex enough that you can't just create bunches of bitcoins without doing a lot of work. So they remain rather scarce. The number of bitcoins is always increasing but at a very slow rate (sort of like mining for gold). People pay money to buy bitcoins off of other bitcoin holders which could be the people who own the mining computers or other people who originally bought bitcoins from a miner and want to sell them. Once I have exchanged cash for bitcoins, I can use those bitcoins to make purchases at retail establishments that accept them. I pay my bitcoins to the retailer and they send me my goods. The retailer now has the choice of using those bitcoins to buy things they need or to sell the bitcoins to someone else for cash.