ebay PM prices

jim4silver

Silver Member
Apr 15, 2008
I have been paying attention for the past year or so to ebay sold prices on items I have a particular interest in, such as US commemorative silver dollars, certain foreign silver coins, etc. I have noticed, especially lately, that these items have been selling for relatively cheap prices when compared to greysheet, retail, etc.

I must disclose I have no experience with ebay as a seller or a buyer. In the past, when silver was going up (pre 2011) and even a bit thereafter as it was falling, it seemed that when I did check ebay the sold prices in general always seemed very high relative to what I paid locally (local retail). When I fast forward to today the ebay sold prices seem low.

My assumption is that it that lower silver prices and a 4 year declining market are the reasons for this. In any event, right now seems to be a good time for ebay buyers who are good at "sniping" or whatever the tactics are for the auctions. I am seeing some key year commems going for less than greysheet bid. That only seems to happen in the auctions from what I see.

When I do finally get on ebay and sell my semi numis stuff, I will definitely be doing "buy it now" sales and will stay away from the auctions. Right now at least, they only seem to favor buyers on the stuff I am in to.

Just wanted to see what you all think about this and what your ebay experiences have been.

Jim

TheCoinKid

Apr 16, 2013
Texas
Primary Interest:
Other
I have very limited experience selling on ebay; just some duplicate and culls coming from my pocket knife collecting. I would just put in a start price (the minimum I would accept) and let the auction run from there. Some would be bid up, some not. Overall, it was pleasant experience as I was able to dispose of what I wanted to, and had zero customer problems. Financially speaking however, after ebay fees, shipping fees and materials, and time spent, it just wasn't worth the effort.