Complete newb, but Im having quite the adventure, and I havent found much yet.

bobw53

Oct 23, 2014
Hatch, New Mexico
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Complete newb, but I'm having quite the adventure, and I haven't found much yet.

I've been living on this property for about 5 years, living in New Mexico for about 13... I'm from New England, spent the first 27 years of my life there, I barely miss it.

So my Dad, for years and years and years and years has been whining that he wants to find gold... I've bought him some old steel gold pans and what not over the years
at flea markets or antique shops, just to shut him up. He's been bugging me for years about this property...

So a few months ago I was up in Canon City, actually Florence at one of the antique shops and I bought a few gold pans to send him and they had a book, and I read it...
That was a mistake...

Then I went back to New England to see my folks last month... And my Dad convinced me... I at least have to go out and try... I had a gold pan...

The property I'm on, 20 acres, about 4 miles down the hill from where there was a ton of mines... They never got a lot of gold out of them though, and none of them
have run since the early 50's at the latest. Mostly 1890's, early 1900's. I've got an arroyo running right through the middle of the property, its filled in over the years,
apparently when my little lady was a kid they used to get the mountain climbing gear out and rappell down the sides. Houses went up, water flow changed, and the arroyo
filled in a LOT.. Its 5 foot deep at the most now, pretty gentle sides, I can drive through if I need to and recently put a road straight across.

I had never watched a single thing about how to pan for gold. I'm not an idiot and I understand density and I've watched the gold shows on TV, and I understood