Anyone ever tried detecting along old stone wall in New England?

treasurekidd

Bronze Member
Nov 20, 2004
Rhode Island
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello! I am a newbie MD'r in Rhode Island. In just the last few days, my daughter and I have combed local school yards, and came away with a pile of change, all clad. My question is about old stone walls. The woods of New England are loaded with old stone walls, about 1-2 feet high, that seem to go on forever. Is anyone familiar with the history behind these old walls, and has anyone every tried or had luck MDing them? A friend told me these walls are 100's of years old, and used to be route markers and/or property boundy markers. Any ideas?

EW7115

Tenderfoot
Sep 12, 2004
Living in New Hampshire there are many stone walls everywhere. They were built from rock removed from farmer's fields and placed mostly along property boundaries, many are still used as boundary markers. Most of the fields are now forest, but the walls remain. I have heard stories of people finding stuff stashed in them. One of my father's friends found an old revolver in a stone wall. Sometime when I get back to my parents house I would like to try detecting on the stone walls on our property.

kenb

Bronze Member
Dec 3, 2004
Long Island New York
Detector(s) used
White's XLT
Upstate NY has MILES of stone walls, I found a structure 5 feet high 7 feet wide and 10 feet long built exactly like the walls only much bigger.It's approx. 75 yards off a fire road in the middle of some large tree's. I have know idea why someone would put so much effort into building something of this size. There isn't any clearing nearby so it's not like someone was clearing a field. Very strange, but next time I'm going up I'll definitely detect it!!

D

DanInMA