any good places in south central pennsylvania to detect

rossman85

May 14, 2012
harrisburg, pa
Detector(s) used
garrett at pro, pro pointer, lesche digger
Hello all,
I am new to detecting, in fact I'm still researching what machine to get. But I am getting one once I make up my mind.( which is harder than originally thought) Anyways I live in the Harrisburg area, and I was wondering if anybody knows any places that are worthwhile to hunt with a metal detector? Before people start commenting, yes I live near Gettysburg, which you are not allowed to detect in the "battlefield boundaries", even if it's on private property, but is there anywhere else worth hunting... anybody know of anywhere worth looking?

jeff of pa

Super Moderator
Staff member
Dec 19, 2003
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to treasureNet.
on Derry street in harrisburg there is a Whites Dealer
and in Gettysburg, a Multi line dealer. You should be able to check out different detectors
at both.

once you have one, your best bet is detect your yard, if you have one,
or can get right of way to a Friend or family members yard.
Not only to learn how to detect & recover Properly, but also
odds are better you'll be detecting Fresh unhunted ground.

After that , move on to Parks, etc.& Research

and of course, if your feeling adventurous, Stop down
on the beach in front of Ballys in Atlantic City Saturday
for National Metal Detecting day.
You will probably see almost every brand of detector being used.

It's free to stop by and Look & Ask questions :laughing7:

Minelabbing - Hunt Event - Minelab Americas

OP
OP
R

rossman85

May 14, 2012
harrisburg, pa
Detector(s) used
Hey Jeff,
Thanks for the tips... I didnt know about that place in gettysburg, so i looked it up and i will be going there friday to talk to the sguys at the shop on where to go and maybe buy my detector there.

Thanks again, Ross

WC68

Apr 23, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting