New To Relic Hunting & Looking for Places in VA

dsterry0578

Jan 20, 2007
New To Relic Hunting & Looking for Places in VA

I am new to relic hunting and I was wondering where the best place to start is. I live in Fredericksburg/Spotsylvania, VA and was raised up just west in Orange County, VA. I am surrounded by Civil War battlefields from the famous Wilderness Battle. I am going back home today(Mine Run) to do some relic hunting back in the woods. During the battle of Wilderness and Mine Run, the confederate march right through my mom and dad's property and through the woods. I am guessing this is a good place to start. The is a very old railroad bed that sits behind my mom and dad's house (back in the woods) that the Confederate use to use to watch for the Union Army, basically a lookout post. Does anybody else know of any good places around the Spotsylvania/Orange area? Thanks!!!

Jason in TN

Bronze Member
Oct 29, 2004
East Tennessee
Re: New To Relic Hunting & Looking for Places in VA

Sounds Like you have a great spot to start. I am in Tennessee do OK on Relics down here. Let us know how you do. Also let me know if you find to many relics and need some help digging them up I will head your way. Good luck and welcome to TN.

Charlene

Bronze Member
Feb 1, 2006
SE, Virginia
Detector(s) used
MineLab Excal II & Bounty Hunter Land Star

I hope to be in Orange county soon doing some Mding on an old farm. If I were you I'd start by doing some research. Try the library of congress web site and look for maps of the area during the war, its a great place to start.

OP
OP
D

dsterry0578

Jan 20, 2007