Civil War Entrenchment Question

guitarplaya39

Mar 2, 2018
RVA
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 400
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm still very new to metal detecting and relic hunting and had a couple questions about hunting Civil War trench sites.
I'm sure these are very generic or "it depends" questions, but I'd like to see where folks here usually have luck.

Are more relics usually found in the trenches themselves, or in the surrounding areas?
I recently had the chance to hunt a small section which I believe are relatively untouched, but only searched the trench and came up empty handed. I guess something else to consider is, according to the maps and research I've done, this particular section of entrenchments didn't see any battle action.

How deep are the relics usually buried?
The places where I have access are covered in very thick layers of leaves. I usually lightly rake the coil through the top layer of dry leaves, but the thick mat of wet leaves below is a real nuisance.

Thanks for the advice!

relic nut

Silver Member
Nov 29, 2014
VA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab CTX 3030 TELEKINETICS 4000 GARRET AT PRO
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You may think they have never been hunted, but more than likely they have, and many times.
The few on private land that I have hunted have not produced much. I did get lucky and found a Cannon ball once and it was 18+ inches and I was digging every single I would get.
Try to hunt all the flat spots behind and around the breast works. Any spots where solider may have gathered.
Maybe you could dig deep in the trench and shift it.

smokeythecat

Gold Member
Nov 22, 2012
Maryland
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting