Help IDn a find

Tackie

Feb 26, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Help ID'n a find

Hi folks. I am brand new to metal detecting but after a long time researching the area I live... I came to the conclusion that my chances of finding old relics were better than average if I was smart enough to keep my mouth shut long enough to pick up the metal detecting basics. I think I may be on to something because after only a week of really beating the bushes I've found more than I had ever imagined. I don't wanna be the guy who metal detects for a week and comes to this site acting like I know what I'm talking about....but I've found a lot of old buttons with the number 14 on em and one with the number 29....both British regiments were stationed in my area leading me to believe I'm in a revolutionary era. But I also found this super thin stamped piece of metal that looks like it capped something. It looks silver to me and has the Nobel order of the garter belt symbol and motto but I can't find anything that would help my positively ID this thing. After scouting the forums on the Internet it would seem you guys are the best out there....if someone here doesn't know no one will! I took a picture of the front and back beside a dime so you could get an idea of the size and the other pic is the piece itself up close so you can see the details. Sorry for the long winded into. Just want to fill you guys in. Thanks in advance for your input!

image-405024897.jpg

image-1739719397.jpg

image-2906857096.jpg

Upvote 0

loco oro

Aug 15, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
very cool find, someone will chime in soon. you are off to a good start, and with good thought.very cool in my book!not my field here ,but it looks to me to be a button or pin cap,the way the backside looks rolled like it was stamped to a fastener of sorts.

OP
OP
Tackie

Tackie

Feb 26, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting