Bronze Member
Dec 14, 2009
pisgah forest, n.c.
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
minelab e-trac and equinox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
probably depends on if they are gem quality or not, i have a few hundred carats of sapphires, most from n.c. 'gem mines' 95% of them are not top quality for fine jewelry. they may have inclusions not visible to the naked eye. most of the time you loose about 50% of origional size after cabbed or faceted. im no expert, maybe montana sapphires are bettey quality. good luck.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
txfire

txfire

Tenderfoot
Jan 1, 2010
Texas
Detector(s) used
Whites Spectra V3
Sorry, I guess I could have put a picture on here to start with, 19.84 carats gem quality, per the gemologist. Thanks for looking.

They also said that they needed to be heat treated to turn dark blue.

Attachments

• DSCF2300.JPG
    DSCF2300.JPG
    222.5 KB · Views: 1,457
Upvote 0
C

Cappy Z.

Sometimes its a little easier to view the stones if the photo is adjusted, so I took the liberty. I don't know what they are worth, but the market determines value. Any idea what you might want for them?

Attachments

• saffires1.jpg
    saffires1.jpg
    13.2 KB · Views: 1,134
Upvote 0

Merlyn555

Aug 28, 2009
Kingston, Ontario
Detector(s) used
Garret Ace 250
Funny you should ask..... :D

I just purchased a rough package of 14 Montana Saphires from the Capistrano Mining Co. weighing in at just over 25 carats and paid $49 for them. Now these were AA rated, facet quality and heat treated.

Your not looking at a whole lot of money for your stones but hey you dug them up yourself so they have some personal value.

You can try to google the Capistrano Mining Co, I don't have their website right now but it shouldn't be hard to find they might buy them from you.

Hope this helps....

Upvote 0

Merlyn555

Aug 28, 2009
Kingston, Ontario
Detector(s) used
Garret Ace 250
Thanks Cappy that's the place....