Dumb as a rock

Sorehands

Dec 4, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am relatively new to gold prospecting ( about six months now) and am becoming more and more interested in the rocks that I am throwing out of my classifier.

I have a strong suspicion that I am throwing away more value (in stones) than I will ever likely find in gold.

Since I am digging them up anyway, I really want to learn more about quickly identifying potentially valuable stones in rough form.

Although I have read a couple books, looked at countless images, and have ordered a hardness-testing kit, I still struggle with the ability to accurately identify rough stones of value.

I am thinking that I can learn best through practical action- would like to pay a local expert to spend an hour or two with me stream-side and help me identify rocks.

Has anyone successfully tried this approach? *Do you have any contacts you could recommend around the Alpharetta/Suwanee GA area?

All ideas and suggestions are very much appreciated.

This email was sent from my phone - please excuse any errors.

MrLee

Mar 25, 2012
Tokyo & OC
Detector(s) used
Google Earth, BS Detector, $$
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Sore, give yourself time. Read about your area, the geology, the past mineral finds etc. This will help you narrow down any possible material that is around you. It's a process of elimination and believe it or not, very soon you will find yourself being able to identify most of those rocks. If your area is known for producing benitoite you should collect anything that is blue and/or has white natrolite, then take it home and painstakingly go through it. 99% of what you will find will just be a "rock". By doing some research 90% of what you take home will be worth taking home.