Quartz?

OldScout

Jun 19, 2014
Southwest Ohio, Indiana, KY area
Detector(s) used
Magnifying glass
Primary Interest:
Other
Definitely a novice here. I appreciate all help. I found these over a few hours searching. One thing these have in common verses all the other rocks I find is that these allow light to pass through them when a light is below. Does that mean they are quartz? It is interesting...some look like regular rocks, but when held to the light they illuminate. Is there a way to cut in or sand away a small portion to see inside? Should the inside be clearer than the beaten up outside? This is very exciting. Clear quartz is never to be found here. Ohio-Indiana area. Thank you!

The first picture is an example of an led under the rock in the dark. The second is all the rocks I found that allow light to enter them.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    63 KB · Views: 65
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    812.8 KB · Views: 77

StoneWhisper

Apr 16, 2010
Annapolis Junction, Maryland
Primary Interest:
Other
Again, as with your other post.. river rocks are very hard to identify based on the dull appearance.. thou 9 out of 10 when you think its quartz.. it is because 80% of the world is made up several varieties of quartz etc.. However I would suggest that in the first image one move away from using yellow tented bulbs and steer towards filtered but natural sunlight or the true white bulbs which cast a positive glow on the subject.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
O

OldScout

Jun 19, 2014
Southwest Ohio, Indiana, KY area
Detector(s) used
Magnifying glass
Primary Interest:
Other
Thank you again. Unfortunately it seems all I have the opportunity to find is river rock.

Although finding something of value would be great, I enjoy it just as much, finding a clear rock in the river bank or a stone with unique coloration.