725.3 KB · Views: 90

G Freeman

Aug 22, 2013
Southwest Virginia
Detector(s) used
Fisher Gold Bug.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Ashman, I been getting a lot of Hexagonal crystals out and wonder where the rest of it is. That is a really nice crystal. HH.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
Ashman

Ashman

Apr 11, 2012
Sun City Cali
Detector(s) used
AT-Pro & F75-SE
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thank You.

Here is a question and please keep in mind I am new to all this. Is there a way to remove crystals like this one from the host rock or is that something that you just don't do.

Upvote 0

MrLee

Mar 25, 2012
Tokyo & OC
Detector(s) used
Google Earth, BS Detector, $$
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
My opinion is it's a quartz point that didn't grow further. A nice piece for your collection.

Upvote 0

DDancer

Bronze Member
Mar 25, 2014
Traveling US to work
Detector(s) used
Current Equinox 600
Past Whites DFX Garret GTI 2500 and others
Prospecting Minelab GPZ 7000
Past SD 2100 GP 3000 (retired)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Cutting away the base material is the safest way. Otherwise careful chipping away of the base material will reduce the size of the specimen with the potential of damaging it. Such points are better left as found from a collectors point of view as it shows natural growth. A conversation piece and something you can study to understand the dynamics of crystal growth.

Upvote 0

G Freeman

Aug 22, 2013
Southwest Virginia
Detector(s) used
Fisher Gold Bug.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Ashman, believe DDancer point is right on or my wife when we first started she would find a rock like yours and she would hold it over her head and throw it to the ground and throw herself farther than the rock and I ask what are you doing and she got the little crystal from the ground in about 100 pieces and said I just wanted to get this out of it. LOL. Yeah I can see the crystal in your rock but its really hard to get them out.

Upvote 0