Incredible Smoky Pocket!

thehunter123

Feb 8, 2015
NC
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey y'all! I am very new to the whole prospecting thing but I've had some very early success. Yesterday I unearthed a massive smoky quartz pocket in the foothills of NC. In 3 hours or so we managed to pull nearly 60-70 fine quality smokies (including a MASSIVE point as well as two beautiful clusters shown below) from an area no bigger than a dinner table. I plan to return to the spot this coming weekend to continue digging and I am very interested to know if there could be any other precious gems that I should be on the lookout for in the pocket. If so, what should be my plan of action? Thanks a lot!!

Attachments

• IMG_1384.JPG
    IMG_1384.JPG
    496.2 KB · Views: 138
  • IMG_1433.jpg
    IMG_1433.jpg
    746.2 KB · Views: 143
  • IMG_1436.jpg
    IMG_1436.jpg
    682.2 KB · Views: 129

BurntBear

Bronze Member
Jul 4, 2014
N.E. Tennessee
Detector(s) used
Shovels....lots of shovels!
Primary Interest:
Other
Those are outstanding specimens! You need to just keep digging! I'd be looking for Beryl. Any Mica around?

Upvote 0

huntsman53

Gold Member
Jun 11, 2013
East Tennessee
Primary Interest:
Other
Be careful to cover and camoflauge the discovery before leaving each time. Also, if this deposit is in the National Forest, check the rules on daily limits of removal of minerals but I believe it is 35 pounds. Also, definitely only use tools and manual labor to remove any Gems and Crystals. A fellow from New York found a large deposit of Adventurine while prospecting for Rubies and Sapphires in the Smaragdite on Chunky Gal Mountain just off the highway from Franklin to Hayesville. He got too greedy, brought in some folks to help and used Dynamite to get it out. He and his helpers were caught delivering a large load of the Adventurine to Importers from Japan at a dock on the coast and he, his helpers and the Importers went to prison.

Frank

Upvote 0

Flick420

Jan 14, 2011