Rock saw advice

Twitch

Silver Member
Feb 1, 2010
Missouri
I've been collecting rocks for several decades and would like to start cutting some of them if I can. I figured if I got a tile saw from Lowe's or Home Depot I'd be able to cut them but they only would be able to cut stones less than 2". Today the family and I went out and found quite a few baseball to softball sized quartz or chalcedony geodes. My boys hammered a few of them open but I'd really like to actually cut them open. I know these are fairly large and that they're a very hard stone - that being said, what advice can you guys offer as where I can find a saw capable of cutting these in half / into slabs.

Thanks for the advice. I'm in the STL area if that matters.

stdenis_jd

May 7, 2015
West Lower Peninsula, MI
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I'm very interested in getting into lapidary a bit, so I've been doing a ton of research. Do yourself a favor and look for a good deal on a combo trim saw/grinding wheel. I've seen quite a few online for sale, 7-10" trim saw plus an arbor with anywhere from 1-4 wheel attachments (I hear it takes a lot of time to change out grit wheels so I think its worth a little extra $).

Any rock you want to cut bigger than 4-5" in diameter will likely require a slab saw and you would be lucky to find a 14" slabber for anywhere near $1,000. The trim/arbor combos you can find for as little as $500 or so but you can get a pretty good one for 750-1,000

Upvote 0

old digger

Gold Member
Jan 15, 2012
Montana
Detector(s) used
White's MXT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I bought a tile/brick saw from Harbor Freight and it does a pretty good job of cutting other materials, but you have to remember that it takes a little longer to cut. Most rocks are harder than your normal brick.

Upvote 0

austin

Gold Member
Jul 9, 2012
San Antonio, Texas
Detector(s) used
Garrett 250
Primary Interest:
Other