Large Sapphire?

WynterRose

May 13, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Good evening. For my birthday I went digging at one of the many gem mines in North Carolina. There, I found a rather large rock that I assumed to be a geode. I took it to an employee who immediately freaked out and grabbed an older employee to look at the rock. The older man gasped and claimed that it is the largest sapphire he has ever seen. Is this truly a sapphire? This is my first time rock hunting and it seems so large. Included below are several photos for identification. I'm posting on my phone so I hope the images work. Any help verifying this is a sapphire will be much appreciated. The place I went to was a little tourist-y so I do not trust the employee's words alone.

image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg

stdenis_jd

May 7, 2015
West Lower Peninsula, MI
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
The definition of a sapphire is basically any colored corundum other that red (Ruby). This looks like it could be corundum with a bluish tint, so yeah, a sapphire. Is it with anything? Not much, but makes a great collection piece that's for sure. Not trying to take anything away from ya as it's like I said a great collection piece, but I would say the employees were just buttering you up a little.

Try scratching quartz/quartzite with it. If your rock gouges the quartz fairly easily then you most likely have a pretty good size corundum specimen.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
W

WynterRose

May 13, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting