Drilling and turning petrified wood

TNC

Tenderfoot
Jun 13, 2016
Iwakuni, Japan
Primary Interest:
Other
Greetings everyone! I have a unique project and could really use some expert advice. First, I'm a woodworker who really enjoys making pens. How that connects to this forum is that I'm researching ways to use petrified wood as the material for a pen. So far I'm golden on how to cut the stock pieces, but where I'm still lacking in certainty is drilling and turning.

What I've found is that a diamond coated sintered core bit is the best way to go for drilling, with good water flow for cooling and evacuation. Does anyone have any other ideas/recommendations for that?

Secondly, for the actual turning process. I know a steel chisel is almost guaranteed not going to cut it (sorry, bad pun). I have carbide tipped chisels, but again I'm uncertain if that would destroy the cutting edge or possibly shatter the stone. Would it be best to use diamond grit files and simply shave down the stock piece, "wet sand" as it were?
???
Any and all advice is both welcome and appreciated. Thanks for reading!

kcm

Gold Member
Feb 29, 2016
NW Minnesota
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Silver uMax
Primary Interest:
Other
I've never done anything like that, but I think your use of using the diamond drill bits would be your best bet. If you could afford to or if you have some spare material to test with, you could try using solid carbide bits (or maybe burrs, if not to large diameter) to make an initial hole quickly. Could then go back and clean it up with diamond.

I think a lot is also going to depend on the petrified wood - density, hardness (just what minerals have impregnated it), cracks/fractures, etc.

In what order do you intend to do the drilling; before roughing the outside or after? It would keep the blank stronger to drill out the inside first - at least with a rough hole.