Beginner's Lot rocks/fossils - Need help digging in right direction

Rific

Mar 7, 2017
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am an early beginner hunter and I am having problems narrowing my search. I am reading more than I am hunting, but I still think I am ending up with useless or man made finds. I would like to post some pics of interesting rocks/fossils i have found, and have you guys ID some of my more noteable finds and point out man made ones. This way, i can narrow my haul and know where to dig deeper! Any help is appreciated for if nothing but my sleep! Its 1:00 am and im still too anxious to sleep!!

Some of the rocks look like cement, some have colors and imprints, but im not sure if theyre mineralized colors or just scum lol..i hope my pretty green quartz is supposed to b green

OP
OP
R

Rific

Mar 7, 2017
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I also sometimes search by bashing a rock open so it would help to know to save certain kinds and not take look at them no matter how bad i want to! After breaking the smaller golfball sized quartz with pink pebbles i was sad because i think i ruined it

Upvote 0

Eu_citzen

Gold Member
Sep 19, 2006
Sweden
Detector(s) used
White's V3, Minelab Explorer II & XP Deus.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I'll start with the pics with only one rock/pic. For sake of ease.

#1. Limonite
#2 To blurry to tell.
#3 Uncertain.
#4 Quartz rich granitoid? Lots of quartz, for sure.
#5 Sedimentary rock? Better pic would help.
#6 Asphalt?

Upvote 0
OP
OP
R

Rific

Mar 7, 2017
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'll start with the pics with only one rock/pic. For sake of ease....