Can I find Sapphires in/near NE Pennsylvania?

BrettCo124

Apr 29, 2009
Outside of Philadelphia, PA
Detector(s) used
Minelab Safari, Tesoro Sand Shark, Bazooka Gold Trap Mini, Gold Rush Nugget Bucket, Garrett Supersluice Gold Pans
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting

Tpmetal

Silver Member
Jan 4, 2017
Western ny
Detector(s) used
equinox 800, Whites mx sport, Garrot carrot, bounty hunter time ranger
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi everyone,

I’m new to this part of the forum. I’m curious if there are places to look for sapphires? Even if it’s a pay to dig. Never did it before and know nothing about it. But would love to get in to it. I’m not against traveling a little ways either.

Thank you everyone.

Brett

not that I have heard of but I could be wrong. NE pennsylvania isn't terribly far (couple of hours) from Herkimer NY which is home to the Herkimer diamonds(pure quartz). there are several pay to dig places that are reasonable.

Upvote 0

DDancer

Bronze Member
Mar 25, 2014
Traveling US to work
Detector(s) used
Current Equinox 600
Past Whites DFX Garret GTI 2500 and others
Prospecting Minelab GPZ 7000
Past SD 2100 GP 3000 (retired)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You'll have to go further south for sapphire. North Carolina, there are a number of fee mines but it you dont mind paying for a bucket I suggest going all the way up Grandfather mountian on the Blue Ridge Parkway for the 5 gallon buckets. Heres a good link for sapphire localities : https://www.mindat.org/min-3529.html

Upvote 0

IAMZIM

Bronze Member
Apr 23, 2011
Butte City, Montana
Detector(s) used
ace 250/garret pinpointer, garret AT Gold
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting