Scrapping Small Electric Motors

MilitariaCollector

Dec 17, 2008
I'm new to scrapping, and am trying to figure out what is worth picking up, and what isnt. I saw a few electric weedwackers, and an old vacuum, and decided to see what I could get out of them. I pulled the motors out of them, and pretty much broke them down as far as I could. Do the scrapyards take electric motors? Do I have to disassemble them even further? Is there a way to get the copper coils out? Generally speaking, how much could I expect to get for a motor?

Attachments

• IMG_0921 (Small).jpg
    IMG_0921 (Small).jpg
    54.6 KB · Views: 8,168

hypoman

Jul 25, 2008
Indiana
Detector(s) used
Excalibur II
If you have access to washers and dryers, those motors are really heavy. Fan motors are smaller but still good ones as well. If you have the time to wait till you have a barrel full of them it might make it worth your while. I personally consider motors to be worth their weight in gold because the poundage adds up fast and the is easy access to them(for me)

I would not break them down anymore than that. You could remove the copper but it is a rather lengthy process. Now on the bigger motors, don't attempt to disassemble them they are heavier that way.

Emperor Findus Cladius

Bronze Member
Sep 2, 2004
TX
Detector(s) used
Whites Vision/V3 Spectra, AT Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting