Mr. Silver Stash

Mar 3, 2012
The Constitution State
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 350
Bounty Hunter Fast Tracker
Primary Interest:
Other
I am new to scrap metals -this weeks haul: I have collected 10 tv's, a printer, a weed whacker, trolling motor, a vcr, and a big bin of wires, cables and speaker off CL. I still have to pop open my first tv!

Idea: go up to the college football stadium, and collect cans. I have a Subaru wagon to fill up. I will probably have to pay $15 to park. Meanwhile, average attendance is 35,000. Should be a lucrative tailgate collection here. Is this worth it? Anyone try something like this? I think if I had a neon construction vest on and a bag and grabber I can pull it off. Or am I going to get in trouble? Will I make $$$? I could probably fit 5-6 large bags in my car. To crush or not crush?

Thanks, and happy hunting! - Jonathan

hobo finds

Mar 15, 2010
If you have to pay to park It's going to hurt! $15.00 to park / .65 a pound for cans is 23 lbs! I would find much cheeper parking in the surrounding neighborhood pay a guy $5 to park in his yard. If they are drinking before / during / after game tell him you would gladly take his cans. Then I would go around the big talegate areas and ask if you could recycle there cans if so give them a bag and tell them you will come back for it before they go inside the stadum to watch the game. Keep going around to the different talgaters. Then during the game look around after loading up the cans from the talegaters. Once the game is over then drive to parking lots, ect. and look for cans. No way you could crush cans in the begining but after the game in empty parking lots you may be able to crush pick up and keep going... Who knows what else you may find, discarded bbq grills, lawn chairs and so on.

billjustbill

Bronze Member
Feb 23, 2008
Texas
Detector(s) used
Minelab SN/XS
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting