Just got a Bounty Hunter Tracker IV but think it might be broken. Help?

stick123

Jun 29, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I got a used Bounty Hunter Tracker IV a week or so ago, when I put a couple of batteries in it and turned it on the needle goes over to about 4, and stays there no matter how I turn the knobs. I swiped it over a few metal things but it didn't make any noise. Is there anything I should check or is it done / not worth the hassle?

Edit - I should add, it stays the same inside or out in the garden. Just stayed at about 2 - 4 on the meter. When I turn it off again it powers off and goes the whole way to the right.

Edit 2 - I have never used a metal detector before so I don't really know what is what.

Last edited:

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to Tnet..JPG It has been a long time since I tried to sell these. While many laugh at using BH's, they will work. Suggest you read the manual http://www.detecting.com/manuals/Tracker IV) REV 2 01.11.11 Reader.pdf

OP
OP
S

stick123

Jun 29, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thanks. I read through it there. The only thing I saw in it that might be a problem is the bit about putting the batteries in. I put them in so the connections were pointing out on both of them. Ill swap them round later to see what happens. If it isn't that it must just be wrecked.

Last edited:

Garrett424

Silver Member
Jun 20, 2014
Granite, Maryland
Detector(s) used
Teknetics Omega 8000
Teknetics Delta 4000,
Deteknix XPointer,
Fiskar's Big Grip Digger & my old Army Trench shovel for the tough jobs
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I got your PM.