Using U/W Scooters for sand blowing

Reef Dawg

Dec 30, 2008
Delray Beach
Detector(s) used
Aqua Pulse Klein Side Scan Sonar
I've used a Torpedo 2500 and 3500 for the removal of light overburden in deep water. It's effective as long as the sand is not too deep. Although, in certain areas, I have been successful at removing quite a bit of sand (up to 28 inches) with pretty good results. As far as moving sand in mass, PPV's are limited.

They are easy to control if they're held the right way and you have yourself positioned to expect it's thrust. Additonally, these PPV's are really good to use around rocking, ledge and habitat areas which have a covering of sand on them and in areas that are tight.

As an Dive Instructor, I would caution you on this; don't forget to check your air. It's easy to get caught up in the excitment of moving sand and discovering things with a PPV only to find yourself out of air.

Hope this helps,

Reef Dawg

stevemc

Bronze Member
Feb 12, 2005
Sarasota, FL
Detector(s) used
Whites Surfmaster PI Pro and Whites Surfmaster PI, Minelab Excal NY blue sword. 2 White's Dual field pi, Garrett sea hunter pi II (but don't use it for obvious reasons) 5' x 3 1/2' coil underwater Pi
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
Most commercially available say the running time is 1 hour, but that is intermitant running. So maybe 45 minutes of solid running. As with any motor, you should not run it hard for long periods or it will get hot. If I was going to use one, I would have several back up batteries on hand. They do work good in certain situations. Yes, align yourself so the current will blow the dust down current, and blow at an angle.

Au_Dreamers

Dec 15, 2010
back on the 1715!!
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
stevemc said: