1715 wreck IDs

Leeholl

Jun 22, 2012
Reading
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
1715 wreck ID's

Heya guy's and girl's.
I'm still very new to the whole 1715 fleet story so sorry for the newbie question, but how come there is so little ID'able evidence on the wrecks.
Is it down to the initial salvage cleaning up all the choice items or the way the ships scattered over such a wide area, or a combination of all the above.
Cheers chaps and good fortune to all.

Au_Dreamers

Dec 15, 2010
back on the 1715!!
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Pretty much yes. The "coinage" is/was mass amounts of regular shipment divided amoung the ships.

While some material has been found that "could" indentify "something" it only leads to more "speculation", not conclusions.

As an example there's been english artifacts found on more than one wreck site.

I have a saying. You can ask 5 salvors which wrecks are where and get 6 different answers.

It will be a combination of document research and salvage that one day might break the 1715 secrets.

For some that is a driving inspiration!

OP
OP
L

Leeholl

Jun 22, 2012
Reading
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
Having spent the last few months reading a lot of the old threads on 1715 wrecks I can see how inspired a lot of the people are on this site, it has certainly got its hooks into me. It's that nagging itch that so many clues are known but they just won't piece together.
Here's hoping the final clue is just round the corner.
Thanks for the reply.

Southern_Digger

May 21, 2012
Florida
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer and Excalibur; Tesoro Tejon; Fisher 1265-X; Garrett Master Hunter; White's Coinmaster; In closet: Bounty Hunter and Relco
Primary Interest:
Other
I had thought many were identified. However, I guess each season something else may surface which changes this information, contradicting what was determined from previous finds.

OP
OP
L

Leeholl

Jun 22, 2012
Reading
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks