Opinions wanted: how far can treasure coins travel from a wreck site?

Jolly Mon

Sep 3, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I realize there are a vast number of variables here. But in general, what is your opinion as to how far coins/ other treasure can travel from a wreck site? I am interested in your opinions, and am interested in the amount of travel you deem possible both longshore and from offshore to inshore and visa versa. If an object does make it to the surf zone, how far can it travel?
It would seem to me, the deeper an object was originally deposited, the less likely it would be subjected to wave energy and transported, but I am no expert.
Any observations/experience/theories on this matter would be greatly appreciated.

gsxraddict

Sep 21, 2005
Resaca, GA
Detector(s) used
XP Deus, Minelab Equinox 800, Whites V3i
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
I've often wondered this myself, and I guess the answer is many miles. Finding coins on the beaches would be the stopping point, how many miles could they have traveled past that?

They just get scattered so bad they are hard to find

stevemc

Bronze Member
Feb 12, 2005
Sarasota, FL
Detector(s) used
Whites Surfmaster PI Pro and Whites Surfmaster PI, Minelab Excal NY blue sword. 2 White's Dual field pi, Garrett sea hunter pi II (but don't use it for obvious reasons) 5' x 3 1/2' coil underwater Pi
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks