THE VIRGIN ALEUTIAN ISLANDS...SHIPWRECK CENTER FOR ANCIENT JAPANESE JUNKS AND MO

fortunate

Sep 9, 2007
Alaska
Detector(s) used
garrett master hunter ads 7, excalibur 1000, whites gmt, compass 77b yukon prospector
I know a few things about shipwrecks in Alaska, but not near enough. I have had my boat out as far as Makushin Bay, west of Dutch harbor. This part of the world is full of shipwrecks...alot of them recorded...but, the majority of them not. It is probably the most over-looked area to search for treasure and gold [artifacts..porclain and more....that i know of. The current from Japan has sent many, many a ship this direction..some, i know about..but, no one knows the total score..it is enormous, i think.
I am not good at research..but, i know alot of people here are....any suggestions?
Fortunate

Blacksheep 6

Aug 10, 2005
Southeastern Sector
Dang...sacks shriveling up just thinking about diving up there...

Anyhow...Cornelius and Ivan Salis are your best bet on recon there...they are the research Guru's on this Shipwreck thread...buzz over to "the wind" thread and PM 'em from there...

Best of Luck and Good Hunting...

Blacksheep6...

OP
OP
fortunate

fortunate

Sep 9, 2007
Alaska
Detector(s) used
garrett master hunter ads 7, excalibur 1000, whites gmt, compass 77b yukon prospector
haha..funny..lol..but, no need for that. what most people do not understand is, Alaska is very, very warm in the summer months....for instance..i have also dredged for gold in the rivers in Alaska. in the middle of the summer, the interior rivers are so warm, that it is difficult to hump a 8 inch dredge for 3 hours straight in the rivers without breaking a sweat with just a wetsuit on.
but in october i use a drysuit for sea cucumber harvesting in kodiak and other places. My gold dredging buddy from the 40 mile river system uses a wet suit...he's tougher..lol

bell47

Apr 1, 2006
Maine
Detector(s) used
Garrett Seahunter