For mixed gas or long term divers out there.

xaos

Bronze Member
Jul 3, 2018
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am not a doctor. I am not endorsing the following, it is COMPLETELY up to the individual to do as they will with the following information!

I have been diving for over 20 years, from SCUBA, TRIMIX, and Heliox mixes. Lungs take a beating, especially with the mixed gas.

I found the following information useful.

The Treatment of Pulmonary Diseases and Respiratory-Related Conditions with Inhaled (Nebulized or Aerosolized) Glutathione

Boatlode

Bronze Member
Mar 30, 2014
Florida Treasure Coast
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Sand Shark......
Nokta Pulse dive....
Scubapro Jet Fins...................
Mares Puck dive computer.......
Sherwood Silhouette BCD.......
Poseidon Cyklon 300 regulator...
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
I have been diving for over 20 years, from SCUBA, TRIMIX, and Heliox mixes. Lungs take a beating, especially with the mixed gas.
Please elaborate. I never heard of any long term lung issues with any of these.

divermark

Nov 28, 2009
Island of Anglesey Wales UK
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
This is incorrect

Adding helium to a gas mix actually benefits the lungs by reducing stress on the lung

Obviously the mixes have to be accurate

Heliox is actually used in aiding pulmonary disease/damage repair

OP
OP
xaos

xaos

Bronze Member
Jul 3, 2018
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
ahhh, a Google search! The medical mix that is used for asthma and COPD is different, and is augmented with additives such as albuterol. It relaxes the lungs by increasing capacity, which is important with COPD and Asthma. Have you considered what it does when you do not have your lungs being restricted by these ailments?

It does not appear that you have ever used Heliox? I know exactly what it felt like after a dive.

There are alerts on DAN and other sites...

Last edited:

Boatlode

Bronze Member
Mar 30, 2014
Florida Treasure Coast
Detector(s) used