New to shipwrecks

TintedSnow

Sep 25, 2016
Anchorage, Alaska
Detector(s) used
Equinox 800, White's Goldmaster
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm new to hunting shipwrecks. I am searching for a vessel called the Hitsap. It was captained by George or Gregory Dwargstof and was somewhere off the coast of Alaska in the early 1890's. I don't know if the names are correct, if the spelling is correct, what nationality it is, anything. Pretty vague. I can't find anything on the interwebs. I don't think it actually wrecked, but I still can't find any record of it. Help me, shipwreck gurus!

ropesfish

Bronze Member
Jun 3, 2007
Sebastian, Florida
Detector(s) used
A sharp eye, an AquaPulse and a finely tuned shrimp fork.
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
The Internet seems to agree with the spellings and that it was a theft and not a shipwreck:
https://www.cachecreektreasure.com/projects
Adak Island Project
It has been estimated that over one million dollars was buried on Adak Island by the captain of the Hitsap, a ship engaged in killing seals. Captain Gregory Dwargstof, of the Hitsap, had stolen this gold from the Sealing Association, of which he was a member, then buried it somewhere on Red Bluff Hill on Adak Island in 1892. Several coins have been found, but the $1,000,000 still waits to be uncovered.

https://dailyoddsandends.wordpress.com/tag/miners/

It has been estimated that over one million dollars was buried on Adak Island by the captain of the Hitsap, a ship engaged in killing seals. Captain Gregory Dwargstof, of the Hitsap, had stolen this gold from the Sealing Association, of which he was a member, then buried it somewhere on Red Bluff Hill on Adak Island in 1892. Several coins have been found, but the $1,000,000 still waits for some lucky treasure hunter.

OP
OP
TintedSnow

TintedSnow

Sep 25, 2016
Anchorage, Alaska
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting