Questions on Boat Towed Magnetometers

GreginAlaska

Tenderfoot
Jul 15, 2015
Homer Alaska
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
All,
Greg here. I am new to this website and apologize if I am making this post in the wrong forum. I am new to this and am looking for advice. I have done a search on this website and was not able to find answers to my questions, so am posting here as the most logical thread. I am trying to locate a large iron anchor in approximately 150' of salt water. I am told that a towed magnetometer is the correct tool to locate items such as this. I have a large boat and winch system capable of deploying such a device, but am totally ignorant about all aspects of this activity. Also, a quick google search revealed equipment from JW Fishers that is fairly expensive. I am not opposed to the prices, but sure need to know what I am doing first. I have the following questions if you would be so good to answer;
1 - Are there any expositions or conferences I could attend where I could look at towed magnetometer equipment and discuss it's operation with knowledgeable people and compare different manufacturers?
2 - Does anyone have a recommendation of a preferred brand or style of towed magnetometer for locating ferrous metal?
3 - Is there charting software available that takes GPS information as an input, to correctly locate anomalies identified by the towed array system?
Thanks for any answers and information you are willing to share.
Greg

Darren in NC

Silver Member
Apr 1, 2004
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Sand Shark, Homebuilt pulse loop
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
If you're serious about it, find someone who can run lanes with a Geometrics Cesium G-882 mag. It is the industry standard, and is your best shot at finding it. They can be rented for a fair price, but you need someone who knows what they're doing with logistics and software.

OP
OP
G

GreginAlaska

Tenderfoot
Jul 15, 2015
Homer Alaska
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks