Writer seeing information about Shipwrecks & Artifacts

ep_haury

Apr 30, 2008
Writer seeing information about Shipwrecks & Artifacts

Hello, my name is Eric Haury. I am a writer of fiction. You wouldn’t have heard of anything I’ve written. But I am currently researching a new project, and some of what I need to research involves shipwrecks and salvage.

I was a bit hesitant to post to this board, since the treasure part of underwater salvage is not the focus of my research. I’m more interested in the rigging than in and bullion found. Still, a glance ant your Shipwrecks sub-board shows a generous allowance to question in the general subject of shipwrecks. And I have questions involving knives and plates, and the like, which should make my question defensible as treasure-based.

Just so you know, the story I am researching is a mermaid novel. But what I am trying to do is take mermaids as we tend to see them – fish tail, but human upper body, etc. And put those unrealistic creatures in a rigidly realistic oceanic environment. So no castles at the bottom of a sea somehow blessed with an infinite euphotic zone. And one thing I want them to do is to scavenge from human shipwrecks and also to trade with humans – keeping the artifacts underwater and thus subject them to the same conditions as items that are found in a shipwreck. Well, except that the mermaids would use the objects instead of having them only sit around collecting silt.

Basically what I want to ask you underwater Treasure hunters is how long different materials survive underwater. And also **how** they degrade. What do they look like, feel like, at different times in the process? And what would disturbing the objects and/or taking them out of the water to them? Since many of you have gone to new wrecks and old ones, you many have a sense of how things change over time. (Because the setting is the equivalent of 1700s Europe, some of the materials would be a bit archaic).