Gunpowder and exploding cannon balls

CaribbeanDiver

Oct 28, 2004
Just want to see if anyone is a pro on the issues of gunpowder. I feel sure it is inert after 300 years in the ocean, but in one of my exploding cannon balls, the powder was DRY!

Safe?

I am still amazed how perfectly preserved they are. When the coral is first removed, they are shiny silver!

I appreciate any input. Like I said, I am very sure about it, but it can't hurt to get other opinions.

Thanks

Attachments

• DSC06489s.JPG
    DSC06489s.JPG
    64 KB · Views: 1,135

Matejko

Jul 18, 2005
Warsaw-Poland
Detector(s) used
White's Prizm V
Hi !

I'm not a professional.... But in Poland we say, " If something has a gunpowder inside ( and it's dry :o), it's NEVER safe."

To be honest, first time I see something like this.... What was it for?
I suppose, it was a kind of weapon. Right?

Pozdrawiam Matejko

stoney56

Gold Member
Oct 4, 2004
Oklahoma
Since you have one disarmed, have you tried lighting a small portion away from other flamible objects? My understanding is that blackpowder gets more unstable with age. In it's initial stage of being made, was made wet so that when ground up it wouldn't ignite and ruin everones day.
Try this link and click on left side where it says Introduction to Artillery, then 4th one down is Disarm/Preservation.
http://civilwarartillery.com/
I don't know if salt water makes any difference but apparently was sealed well enough to come out dry.
Just keep it safe my friend.

omnicognic

Bronze Member
Jan 22, 2005
Tampa, Florida