Critique my homemade wooden sluice.

ohiochris

May 6, 2009
Here is a sluice I am working on. I dont know a lot about them and never used one , but I came up with plans based on what Ive seen on the internet. The sides are 1X4 , the bottom 1X11 , 48 inches long , and the riffles are hardwood square dowels roughly 1 inch. I am trying to think of a way to hold the carpet in so its removable. Thinking of painting it dark green or black and maybe coat it with polyurethane. Riffles are about 4 inches apart. I have the whole thing held together with liquid nails and screws.

This is my first attempt , so I could really use some advice in this. What would you change on it or do differently ?

Attachments

• sl1 (600 x 450).jpg
    sl1 (600 x 450).jpg
    53.6 KB · Views: 9,926
  • sl2 (600 x 450).jpg
    sl2 (600 x 450).jpg
    46.5 KB · Views: 3,992
  • sl3 (600 x 450).jpg
    sl3 (600 x 450).jpg
    41.4 KB · Views: 1,858
OP
OP
O

ohiochris

May 6, 2009
Updated pictures. I rounded the front top edge of the square dowels to allow lighter sand to flow over better , and slightly under cut the trailing bottom edge to make somewhat of a small pocket. I found a way to secure the carpet at the end with a piece of flimsy expanded metal from the paint department at Lowes , its not ideal and I will come up with something else later. I got looking at paint rollers , how they are fuzzy and would stick out a little through the expanded metal , wondering if that might actually work better than carpet , but it may trap more sand too. I know this one is gonna be a bear at cleanup time , but there is only so much you can do with wood.

Any ideas ?

Attachments

• rev1 (600 x 450).jpg
    rev1 (600 x 450).jpg
    74.7 KB · Views: 1,467
  • rev2 (600 x 450).jpg
    rev2 (600 x 450).jpg
    33.8 KB · Views: 4,686

prospectordamon

Mar 31, 2011
Detector(s) used
White's MXT/6X10 DD Coil/950 Coil