Ben Cartwright SASS

Bronze Member
Aug 7, 2012
Massachusetts
Detector(s) used
Whites, Garrett
Primary Interest:
Other
I set up this homemade concentrator using Angus MacKirk sluices the mini-long Tom and the Grub Steak.
I hooked up a 300 gph sump pump, sort of anemic and a 600 gph pond pump. I want to ask people to see if they think the water flow is correct for the size of the sluices or too much flow when using both pumps or about right later in the video with just the 600 gph

blynch35

Sep 6, 2012
Alabama
Detector(s) used
Gold Bug Pro, Gold-N-Sand X-Stream Pro, super mini, super prospector bazooka gold trap sluice's, Thompson 12v Drywasher, royal highbanker, and blue bowl.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
nice set up ben, im still pretty new at this too but i do think that it work better with the two pumps hooked up. with the single pump looks like its washing out the fine gold but we will se when the real pro's start to chime in.

OP
OP
Ben Cartwright SASS

Ben Cartwright SASS

Bronze Member
Aug 7, 2012
Massachusetts
Detector(s) used
Whites, Garrett
Primary Interest:
Other
last evening I took 4 pieces of gold, being new I would call them flakes but I guess people would call them fines - they were so small I couldn't pick them up with very sharp tweezers I had to use my finger. I could see them with the naked eye so they are not micro or flour gold.
anyhow
I put 2 in a scoup of river gravel/sand going into each sluice along with some small lead flakes. I then ran them through each sluice. after running a couple more scoups I then panned out the concentrate. I was nervous because I was risking GOLD! Who cares if lead is lost, but gold...