prospecting south carolina north east ga

Oldyoungtimer

Feb 20, 2013
Been bit by a gold bug! I have been prospecting for about six months through cold weather and cold creeks. Found a little here and there. Anyone got any ideas of where to go? Been prospecting Sumter national forest. I find myself loving to prospect more and more everyday. I don't even think it's about having the gold for me as it is about finding it. Anyone else feel the same?

stanjtown

Nov 9, 2012
Lebanon County
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey Oldyoungtime, I'm visiting my daughter in March and asked the same question for South Carolina and was told the Carolina slate belt area hope this helps and good luck.

KevinInColorado

Gold Member
Jan 9, 2012
Summit County, Colorado
Detector(s) used
Grizzly Goldtrap Explorer & Motherlode, Gold Cube with trommel or Banker on top, Angus Mackirk Expedition, Gold-n-Sand Xtream Hand pump
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Welcome to tnet!

I can definitely relate to getting the urge to get out there prospecting :-)

Solving nature's puzzle and finding the gold is a lot of fun. Then again, so is having it...I am accumulating enough to get a ring made for my wife!

OP
OP
Oldyoungtimer

Oldyoungtimer

Feb 20, 2013
Nice! I hope she likes the ring. Thanks for the warm welcome. I live in Oconee county so i think the slate belt is a little to far for me to travel. Been to Georgia today along the Chatooga river panned a couple creeks found a ton of heavies just no gold. There was also a lot of decayed quartz. I think the gold is there just not where i looked lol.

Astrobouncer

Jun 21, 2009
Oldyoungtimer, you are actually in a good area for gold in Oconee county, the problem for that (and almost any) area is getting access. I would be asking friends, family, neighbors, co workers, etc to check their creeks/rivers if you dont have access to one.

OP
OP
Oldyoungtimer

Oldyoungtimer

Feb 20, 2013