Welcome guest, is this your first visit?
Discoveries

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: Obscure topic

« Prev Thread | Next Thread »

Oct 2013
    All Types Of Treasure Hunting

Obscure topic

Hello there, Im a geology student doing some research and have a conundrum...

I have a series of ripples (google URL at bottom of post for diagram) where by on the slip face there is a deposit of Iron oxide coated quartz not seen throughout the rest of the ripple. I figured it was due to a density contrast between the material. Quartz has a density of 2.66g/cm3 whereas Iron oxide 5.24 g/cm³ . Assuming the quartz-oxide is 5% oxide - density = 2.79g/cm3, can I work out the original flow velocity? I came here as a sluice box has the same "physics package" leading to the separation of flow and deposition of the denser material. Obviously here the density contrast is smaller and this represents an inverse problem.
    The slope face is not preserved, but I assume an angle of 15 degrees and height (from base to crest-seperation) of 5 cm.

If anybody could give me any help regarding the physics behind this problem I would be most appreciative.
    Many thanks and good hunting/panning? to you all!
    Alastair

http://people.hofstra.edu/j_b_bennin...tes/ripple.gif

us
    Jun 2013
    Indiana/Ohio
    Proline!!!
    174 times
    Prospecting
    If you are going to find the answers your looking for I am confident that this is the best forum for it.
    It may take some persistence but there are plenty of brilliant people here.
    Also if you need the advise of a dumb redneck miner I'm here too!

us
    Northern California

Aug 2007
    Southern California
    XLT, GMT, 6000D Coinmaster
    4521 times
    Chris Ralph could be of assistance. chrisralph@icmj.com I saw the title and wondered what you were going to say about me...............63bkpkr
    GarySluicie and russau like this.
    Out searching w/GMT & friend under my arm

us
    Oct 2009
    7462 times