Obscure topic

geostudent101

Tenderfoot
Oct 2, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello there, Im a geology student doing some research and have a conundrum...

I have a series of ripples (google URL at bottom of post for diagram) where by on the slip face there is a deposit of Iron oxide coated quartz not seen throughout the rest of the ripple. I figured it was due to a density contrast between the material. Quartz has a density of 2.66g/cm3 whereas Iron oxide 5.24 g/cm³ . Assuming the quartz-oxide is 5% oxide - density = 2.79g/cm3, can I work out the original flow velocity? I came here as a sluice box has the same "physics package" leading to the separation of flow and deposition of the denser material. Obviously here the density contrast is smaller and this represents an inverse problem.
The slope face is not preserved, but I assume an angle of 15 degrees and height (from base to crest-seperation) of 5 cm.

If anybody could give me any help regarding the physics behind this problem I would be most appreciative.
Many thanks and good hunting/panning? to you all!
Alastair

http://people.hofstra.edu/j_b_bennington/135notes/ripple.gif

Sick4gold

Jun 11, 2013
Indiana/Ohio
Detector(s) used
Proline!!!
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
If you are going to find the answers your looking for I am confident that this is the best forum for it.
It may take some persistence but there are plenty of brilliant people here.
Also if you need the advise of a dumb redneck miner I'm here too! :)

Jason in Enid

Gold Member
Oct 10, 2009
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Obscure topic? I can't even understand the question.

DizzyDigger

Gold Member
Dec 9, 2012
Concrete, WA
Detector(s) used
Nokta FoRs Gold, a Gold Cube, 2 Keene Sluices and Lord only knows how many pans....not to mention a load of other gear my wife still doesn't know about!
Primary Interest:
Prospecting