BGT Sniper question? Is mica or flour gold caught in the trap?

gunflintguy

Oct 4, 2013
Northern Mn
Detector(s) used
Gold Bug Pro, Blue Bowl
Sluices: 36" Bazooka Gold Trap Sniper, Angus McKirk Recon
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Well, I got my new bazooka 36” sniper out these last few days and I am really impressed with its abilities, and really happy that I bought it.
I have been using the Mackirk recon for the last 6 months as a recirculater and I am familiar with all of the gold colored mica it seems to catch.

The material I ran the last few days I am not expecting to find any gold except maybe flour gold, because of the location that I took it from.
However, when I classify the cons down to -50 and below, I am getting something that acts like mica (slowly moves in the pan but doesn’t settle).

My question for the BGT users, do your traps catch the mica along with the small flour gold?

In the next few days I plan to run everything +30 down to -100 in the blue bowl so I am figuring that if it is mica it will blow right out.

Any thoughts?

KevinInColorado

Gold Member
Jan 9, 2012
Summit County, Colorado
Detector(s) used
Grizzly Goldtrap Explorer & Motherlode, Gold Cube with trommel or Banker on top, Angus Mackirk Expedition, Gold-n-Sand Xtream Hand pump
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Never had mica stay in the trap but lots of flour gold...my fav creek produces lots of 50-100 mesh range gold and some even smaller....which shows up in my Bazookas every trip :-)

golden sluice

Dec 16, 2013
next to disneyland
Detector(s) used
Thanks Kellyco, and Garrett:smile:... I love my AT gold metal detector!
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hello gunflintguy. If the mystery mineral is acting like gold in the sluice and in your pan, well it probably is gold. Try drying out this stuff and cook it in a metal pan...

If it makes a sulfur smell then you know its crappy fools gold. But if not, then its gold.