Best way to recover "flour" gold?....

questforgold

Apr 27, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi everyone!

This is my first post here but I have been dong what feels like endless reading on how to capture extremely fine gold. I have been doing some prospecting in my local national forest and have had some good luck with just my pan. I have been using just the pan for some time now and want to take my prospecting up to the next level but at the same time on a budget since I am a broke college student. LOL. The biggest gold i have found has not even broken a 1/16 of an inch and 95% of it is just like dust.

I have been doing a lot of reading on sluice boxes for the obvious reason of running more material. From what I understand (and i could be completely wrong here) is that the Gold Cube is the way to go. There is just three problems with this. 1 its over $400, 2 its gong to be a royal pain to backpack that thing in and finally, no mechanical equipment is allowed so the pump is a no go. I talked to a ranger and he said the gold cube is fine its just that the pump is considered a mechanical device which is not allowed. So what options does that leave me? I am very good at fabrication and wouldn't mind building something but if there is a product out there at the right price I would jump on it.

Thank for the help guys, all info and advice is greatly appreciated!

Stephen

johnedoe

Bronze Member
Jan 15, 2012
Oregon Coast
Detector(s) used
White's V3i, White's MXT, and White's Eagle Spectrum
Cleangold sluice & prospectors pan, EZ-Gold Pan, and custom cleanup sluice.
Primary Interest:
Other
Last edited:
OP
OP
Q

questforgold

Apr 27, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
That looks like a great sluice! Im really glad that you replied because that size gold is exactly what im finding. Do you know if the Beach Sluice is still available because there is not a link like the other non collapsible ones? I contacted them so I guess we will find out.

Stephen