folding or fixed?

steveh2112

Apr 18, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
i'm just about to buy this Folding Sluice Box for obvious reasons, easy to backpack around

then i saw this Keene Sluice box Keene Sluice box - $100

would there be any significant performance advantage over the folding box that would make it worth the trouble of hauling it around?

i'm planning to get to most places on a dirt bike so my wife would have it strapped to her back (lucky her!)

Last edited:

Maitland

Mar 15, 2010
Black Hills, South Dakota
Detector(s) used
White's Silver Eagle, Fisher Gold Bug 2
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
That's really not a bad price for a Keene A52 that looks to be in decent shape, definitely something I would consider if I were you, and they are very customizable. I've never used a folding sluice before, I can see how they would be an advantage for backpacking, but for personal preferences I am someone who will always go for a regular sluice as opposed to a folding one, simply for the reason that they're one solid piece so they're a little more sturdy and there's less to go wrong with them. I doubt if there would be much of a performance difference between a folding sluice and a regular sluice of the same model.

OP
OP
S

steveh2112

Apr 18, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Last edited:

Maitland

Mar 15, 2010
Detector(s) used
White's Silver Eagle, Fisher Gold Bug 2
Primary Interest:
Prospecting